Maggie Philbin announces winners in the Impact Awards


Maggie Philbin, who regularly provides comment on technology for the BBC, revealed the winners at a glittering award ceremony in Glasgow last week which recognises the impact of intellectual assets from research.

The first commercial inspection of pipeline using an Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV), producers of a novel cement which absorbs more CO2 than it emits during production and an innovative procedure which improves patient quality of life by successfully repairing anterior cruciate ligament injuries first time, are among the winners of the PraxisUnico Impact Awards. Plus, there was also an individual award for those who are involved in translating the outputs of UK research into the new innovations of tomorrow.

Professor David Lane, Founder of SeeByte, winner of the Business Impact Achieved award and leading academic at Heriot-Watt University, said of this success, "I am delighted that the SeeByte team's achievements have been recognised through this award. Since launching the company in 2001, we have seen our vision of becoming a global leader in the provision of smart solutions for unmanned systems become a reality. This award also demonstrates the opportunities available for young entrepreneurs to launch their ideas into viable businesses, and to the support which is available from organisations such as Heriot-Watt University, which fully backs the ambitions of tomorrow's business leaders."

Dr Joanne Thomas, Senior Technology Manager, TrusTECH (winners of the Collaborative Impact award) said: "The development of GraftBolt® is an excellent example of how a clinician, academics, a company and an NHS Innovation Hub can work together to develop a new product. The success was due to: good team communication; a robust patent; and a highly motivated commercial partner with excellent market knowledge."

Dr Phil Clare, PraxisUnico Chairman rounded off the evening by saying, "I'd like to thank all the entrants to this year's awards and congratulate those shortlisted and winners for bringing such deserved attention to these new innovations. These awards reveal the diversity of projects that knowledge transfer and technology transfer professionals contribute."

The winners

Business Impact - Achieved award
Heriot Watt University and SeeByte Ltd for Autonomous Inspection
of Subsea Cables And Pipelines

Business Impact - Aspiring award
Imperial Innovations/Imperial College London/Novacem for Novacem
Collaborative Impact award, sponsored by MRCT is:
TrusTECH (North West NHS Innovation Hub) for GraftBolt®: From Sketch To Product

Career Track - KT Achiever of the Year
Dr John Pearson, University of Birmingham

Winners of The Impact Awards were announced at the PraxisUnico Conference Gala Dinner, the Old Fruitmarket, Glasgow on Thursday evening, 9 June 2011.


For further information please contact:

Lee Willmott
01223 422085


PraxisAuril is the UK’s leading association of research commercialisation professionals, representing more than 100 UK universities and public sector research establishments.