Nominations for the MRC Millennium Medal 2020 are now open

MRC Millennium Medal 2020 logo

The Medical Research Council  (MRC)  has announced the launch of the Millennium Medal 2020, the MRC’s most prestigious award that is presented annually to an exceptional researcher who has made a major contribution towards the MRC’s mission to improve health, quality of life and wealth creation.

To mark the 20th anniversary of the Millennium Medal, the MRC is now inviting nominations for the Medal from universities and independent research organisations to recognise an outstanding scientist that has currently or previously received MRC funding for their research, and who has shown a dedication to improving the research environment (for example by improving research culture, integrity and training).

The winner will be listed among the most highly influential and impactful researchers in the UK; they will deliver a lecture and receive a Medal that is specially created by The Royal Mint at a dedicated awards ceremony in Spring 2021.

The competition will be open for six weeks and close on 2 October 2020 at 17:00.

Find out further details on the award, including the eligibility criteria and nomination process>>>

For any questions, please contact:

History of the MRC Millennium Medal

Since its launch in 2000, the Millennium Medal has highlighted the work of eight truly outstanding researchers. The first recipient of the Medal was Dr César Milstein in 2000 for his pioneering work on monoclonal antibodies. The 2002 Medal was presented to Professor Tom Meade for his contribution to advance UK health, particularly in cardiovascular disease and, in 2004, Sir Peter Mansfield received the Medal to recognise his role in the development of MRI which plays a major role in aiding diagnoses and treatment today. Professor Sir Edwin Southern was awarded the Medal in 2006 for the invention of the Southern blotting technique and DNA microarray technology. 

To mark the MRC’s Centenary in 2013, two Medals were awarded — to Professor Sir Philip Cohen and Professor Sir Gregory Winter for Sir Philip’s outstanding collaborative work with the pharmaceutical industry and Sir Greg’s development of humanised monoclonal antibodies. In 2015, Professor Sir Brian Greenwood received the Medal for his work in reinventing field research in tropical medicine and in 2017, Professor Janet Darbyshire received the Medal for her transformative work on clinical trials, resulting in major advances in diseases including tuberculosis, HIV and AIDS, and cancer.

Several of these researchers have also gone on to receive a Nobel Prize for scientific excellence in their field.

To read more information, click here.

The Medical Research Council has been at the forefront of scientific discovery to improve human health. Founded in 1913 to tackle tuberculosis, the MRC now invests taxpayers’ money in some of the best medical research in the world across every area of health.

MRC [Medical Research Council]